Dr. Marlene B. Ferido bags 2013 PFCS award for Chemistry Education

Dr. Ferido receives her award.
The Philippine Federation of Chemistry Societies (PFCS) awarded Dr. Marlene B. Ferido the 2013 PFCS Awards (Chemistry Education Category). The awarding ceremony was held at the Negros Oriental Convention Center in Dumaguete City on 10 April 2013. The PFCS Awards are given to individuals with outstanding contribution to chemistry. The awards aim to (1) inspire youth to take up chemistry; (2) recognize outstanding contribution of chemistry to development of discipline; and (3) recognize outstanding and exemplary contributions to society through chemistry.

The PFCS recognized Dr. Ferido for her “outstanding contribution to the teaching of chemistry such as the development of innovative approaches/ tools to the teaching of chemistry researches in chemistry education.” As a Science Education Specialist V at NISMED, she has spearheaded a number of research studies about the country’s current education system and has selflessly shared her knowledge with fellow teachers as resource person, reviewer, trainer and lecturer in various national and international programs such as National Training of Trainers for Grades 7 and 8 Science in preparation for the DepEd K to 12 Program, Program for Scholars in Residence of the University of Education, Pakistan, overall coordinator for various NISMED projects, among others. She has also written research based articles in refereed journals, evidence of her good writing and investigation skills. At present, she serves as Convenor for Science in the K to 12 Curriculum including finalization of the Curriculum Guide, development of Learning Modules for students and accompanying guides for teachers, and dissemination workshops for the spiral progression curriculum. Her commitment and love for the country is seen in her various works to improve science education program in the Philippines.”

Dr. Ferido is the current Chair of the High School Chemistry Group at NISMED. She was formerly Deputy Director for Research and Extension and Deputy Director for Administration of the Institute.